Saturday, January 24, 2015

Sol. Fa. La.

Tom DePlonty and I recently made an album called The Detail of Little Events. In it we used recordings of voice in the public domain from the web, and I found the use of natural voice to create instruments in my software synthesis units (Iris, stuff like that), that I made an album, Sol. La. Fa.,  which uses voice as the basis for the entire set. There are twelve shorter pieces on the CD, and some are taken from the Sacred Harp tradition (Windham), some from just folk tunes (Old Granny Hare), from hymnals (Ancient of Days), and some just from my voice (Het uitzicht vanaf de berg).

I was going to call the album Fasola, but isn't that already taken?

Friday, April 26, 2013

The Cracked Chimes

The Cracked Chimes is my first actual solo release; I've mainly released pieces in collaboration with other people, mainly with Tom DePlonty and Charles Baker. These works represent the various directions I've been playing around with lately, including a darker ambient style and techno (of all things).

A few words about each piece:

1) Fluctuations. A "techno" piece, which swirls around a central idea, and never settles down, even for a second.
2) Caldera. This was a slow, imagined walk along the side of an inactive volcano to the summit, ending with looking down into the caldera.
3) Ivory. A small pun, because the sounds are piano samples. This is also a canon, with an underlying drone.
4) Bounce. Not the best title, I guess, but the sounds reminded me of sounds bouncing around the room.
5) Distant Forest. All the sounds are recordings of forest animals and birds, but amplified in various ways to create an eerie, not-quite-real forest.
6) Slowly through the World. a slow ambient work, presenting our lives as we move through the world.
7) The Cracked Chimes. The sounds are based on chimes and bells which are all manipulated.
8) The Good Soul. A constant percussive pattern with floating chords above, and below the sound of thunder and rain. Clichee, maybe, but it works.
9) Suspended Tempo. All the sounds enter at their own tempi, hence the title.
10) Momento. More filtered Bells, with a percussive undertone. I was thinking more of Momento Mori here,  as it was the idea of somebody considering the long string of life.
11) Fissure. A techno work, actually composed in collaboration with Tom DePlonty.

Friday, February 15, 2013

Not much to say

I am typing here just to use it - I have other blogs to send my thoughts to, and I keep up there, but not here. This is how it is, I'm afraid. La di da, and etcetera!

Friday, September 28, 2012

Spaceflight pharmacology

the latest album from Paragat√©
 is now out on Bandcamp. Go check it out!

Saturday, June 2, 2012


Just playing around with Bidule (from Plogue). I want to be able to create pieces live, so this was a short result.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Cork on the Waves

Ok, THIS one is more ambient - it's also on the new release!

Ground Effect

This post was a bit earlier in my blog, but I thought I'd move it up here - the final piece on "The World Above Us". Not Particularly ambient, I know...